fbpx

literacy

math

science

themes

centers

christian

digital

classroom

20 Valentine’s Day Books for Little Learners

This post may contain affiliate links.  Please read our disclosure here.

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on print

With Valentine’s Day sneaking up on us, it’s the perfect time to teach our little learners all about the holiday of love! Teaching them about Valentine’s Day is such a special unit! There’s so many fun and exciting ways to incorporate a Valentine’s Day unit and little minds have so much fun while they learn new things about Valentine’s Day. It’s even more fun to watch them explore this unit through reading Valentine’s Day books.

Finding Valentine’s Day books to read is a wonderful addition with these units and the get to learn all the different things associated with Valentine’s Day!

Reading Valentine’s Day books is so much fun for little learners as they go through this exciting Valentine’s Day unit! They’ll discover all kinds of things about Valentine’s Day – the holiday all about love!

I’ve found so many Valentine’s Day books out there – you wouldn’t believe how many there are to choose from! I’m sharing some great choices with you to use alongside this fun Valentine’s Day unit that can be easily purchased on Amazon. Click the links below to stock up on some fun Valentine’s Day books this year! You can use your prime membership to get them delivered quickly with FREE 2-day shipping.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Mouse!

Join Mouse from If You Give a Mouse a Cookie as he celebrates Valentine’s Day with all the friends he loves. This board book with sturdy pages is perfect for preschoolers, who will enjoy the simple introduction to the fun of Valentine’s Day.

Pete the Cat: Valentine’s Day is Cool

At first, Pete thinks Valentine’s Day isn’t cool…until he realizes all the special cats there are in his life. Pete the Cat: Valentine’s Day Is Cool comes complete with a poster, stickers, and twelve punch-out Valentine’s Day cards. Once Pete the Cat realizes how much fun Valentine’s Day can be, he decides to make valentine cards for his family and friends. But what happens when he realizes he’s forgotten to make a card for a very important cat?

Roses are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink

Gilbert is all set to write fifteen friendly valentine cards to his classmates. But how can he write a nice poem for the boy who tweaked his nose, or the girl who made fun of his glasses? Instead, Gilbert writes two not-so-nice valentines…and signs the wrong name on both! When his classmates read his poems, their feelings are hurt, and Gilbert’s prank quickly turns into pandemonium. But with the help of a friend and an honest apology, there’s always time for a change of heart on Valentine’s Day.

The Day it Rained Hearts

One day it rains hearts, and Cornelia Augusta catches them. She realizes that the hearts are perfect for making valentines. Each heart is special in its own way, and Cornelia Augusta knows exactly who to send them to: her animal friends.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Curious George!

George and his friends celebrate Valentine’s Day with decorating, baking, card making and some unexpected hilarity along the way! Just how much mischief can a curious little monkey get into when balloons, frosting, and glitter are involved? Fold-out flaps on each scene reveal lively surprises in this humorous celebration of friendship. Sparkly red foil shines on the cover and throughout the book.

Llama Llama I Love You

In Llama Llama I Love You, little llama shows his friends and family how much he loves them with heart-shaped cards and lots of hugs. What could be sweeter than Llama Llama on Valentine’s Day?

The Night Before Valentine’s Day

All the kids are getting ready for the sweetest holiday of the year! Join in on all of the card-making fun, and then come along to school the next morning for a day of parties and games!

Love Monster

Love Monster is a slightly hairy monster trying to fit in with the cuddly residents of Cutesville. But as it turns out, it’s hard to fit in with the cute and the fluffy when you’re a googly-eyed monster. And so, Love Monster sets out to find someone who will love him just the way he is. His journey is not easy―he looks high, low, and even middle-ish. But as he soon finds out, in the blink of a googly eye, love can find you when you least expect it.

Click, Clack Moo I Love You!

It’s Valentine’s Day and on the farm that means a Valentine’s party. Little Duck is wildly excited. She hangs balloons, streamers, sparkling lights, and hearts everywhere, and hand-makes a valentine for everyone. On top of a hill, a little fox hears the music from the party and follows Little Duck’s many decorations to the barn…but foxes are not at all welcome on farms. The chickens stop dancing. The sheep stop dancing. The pigs stop dancing. The mice hustle off to hide. Will Little Fox ruin the dance? Or, perhaps, she’s just what the party needs!

Happy Valentine’s Day, Little Critter!

From decorating the classroom with hearts to eating cupcakes and making Valentine’s Day mailboxes, Little Critter is having the best day ever. He’s even making an extra-special card for an extra-special valentine!

I Love Pete the Kitty

The fun new Pete the Kitty series from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator James Dean introduces young readers to Pete the Cat before he was Pete the Cat…when he was little Pete the Kitty! Pete the Kitty loves so many wonderful things in life—like birthday cake, ice cream, his guitar, and more. But what does this groovy kitty love the most?

There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Rose!

That lovely old lady has returned just in time for Valentine’s Day. Now she’s swallowing items to make a very special gift for her valentine! With rhyming text and hilarious illustrations, this wacky version of the classic song will appeal to young readers as they follow the Old Lady on a wild Valentine’s Day adventure.

My Fuzzy Valentine

It’s Valentine’s Day and Elmo has received an anonymous valentine. Who could have sent it? He checks with all of his friends and finds the answer right back where he started looking—at home! Toddlers will love touching the fuzzy valentine on every spread!

Peppa’s Valentine’s Day

Peppa Pig gets a pretty card in the mail from Zoe Zebra. It’s a Valentine’s Day card! Peppa learns about the meaning of Valentine’s Day and decides to show all of her friends just how special they are to her.

The 12 Days of Valentine’s

Count the 12 days leading up to Valentine’s Day with this fun-filled picture book inspired by “The 12 Days of Christmas”—perfect for fans of Natasha Wing’s “The Night Before . . .” series. Includes stickers for an extra Valentine’s Day treat!

Arthur’s Valentine

Valentine’s Day is just a few days away and Arthur can’t figure out who his secret admirer is. It might be Fern, but he hopes it’s Sue Ellen. Or is it Buster playing pranks? Can you guess?

A Crankenstein Valentine

CRANKENSTEIN! He’s BAAAAACK! See what happens to an ordinary kid on the most lovey-dovey, yuckiest day of the year-Valentine’s Day! Cheesy cards, allergy-inducing bouquets, and heart-shaped everything? It’s enough to turn anyone into a monster! YECHHHH! But Crankenstein might just find a way to turn his sour day sweet… because even the crankiest monsters have hearts!

Love Is

Perfect for any fond gift or tender moment, this story of a girl and a duckling who share a touching year together will melt hearts old and young. In this tenderly funny book, girl and duckling grow in their understanding of what it is to care for each other, discovering that love is as much about letting go as it is about holding tight. Children and parents together will adore this fond exploration of growing up while learning about the joys of love offered and love returned.

Valentine’s Day is Here!

Join, Eddie, Sofia, and the rest of the Little People gang as they celebrate the sweetest holiday of the year with cupcakes, crafts, cards and more. With over 50 fun flaps to lift and discover in Fisher Price Little People Valentine’s Day Is Here, kids are sure to return to this engaging adventure again and again.

The Valentine Bears

Mr. and Mrs. Bear have never celebrated St. Valentine’s Day because they hibernate during the winter.

Exploring this fun Valentine’s Day unit is so exciting for little learners this time of year as the holiday of love sneaks up on us! It’s fun for us too since we get to watch them learn and grow through exploring this exciting Valentine’s Day unit. Grab your favorite Valentine’s Day books to go with this Valentine’s Day unit and explore all the different aspects of Valentine’s Day.

 

LIKe what you read?

subscribe to our newsletter for more ideas and offers

don't miss out

subscribe for weekly freebies and coupons

Screen-Shot-2019-04-18-at-10.03.37-PM.png